Mexican UN Ambassador Juan Ramón de la Fuente Ramírez. Photo: Twitter


Mexico — along with India, Ireland, Kenya and Norway — once again assumed responsibilities as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council on Monday, Jan. 4.

The five nations’ two-year terms officially began on Jan. 1, but Monday was the first working day of the council for 2021 after the Christmas and New Year break.

A flag installation ceremony was held at noon to mark the start of their responsibilities.

Kazakh UN Ambassador Magzhan Ilyassov, who presided over the ceremony, congratulated the five new council members and wished them success in realizing their priorities during their terms, which he described as “two crucial years of modern history.”

The year 2021 will be one of “hope for all countries and for the United Nations,” Ilyassov, said.

“International peace, security and sustainable development in 2021 will largely depend on the decisions of the United Nations and the Security Council with its permanent and non-permanent members,” he said.

“Drawing on the hard but valuable lessons learned in 2020, we must analyze and use in our future work the best examples of collaboration, compromise and dedication to causes for further promoting and ensuring global peace, security and sustainable development. We need some real action to translate our current hopes into true benefits and positive changes for people and to implement the (UN) secretary-general’s agenda for peace.”

Each of the permanent representatives of the five countries made short speeches before they installed their respective national flags outside the Security Council Chamber.

Each of the permanent representatives of the five countries made short speeches before they installed their respective national flags outside the Security Council Chamber.

Mexican Ambassador to the UN Juan Ramón de la Fuente Ramírez took the opportunity to point out the country’s multilateral priorities for the next two years, noting that the country will “promote cooperation and dialogue schemes to prevent conflicts and to achieve sustainable peace.”

During its Security Council term, he said, Mexico will be guided by three general guidelines; compliance with human rights and fundamental freedoms, including the freedom of speech, religious freedom, the right to live free from fear and freedom from want; the promotion of  cooperation for sustainable development, including the protection of the environment, with a view to obtain the support form developed countries and international financial institutions to developing countries in their fight against hunger, pandemics, racism, classism, sexism, xenophobia and discrimination in all its forms; and the insurance that force is not used in any conflict.

De la Fuente Ramírez also said that Mexico “will follow with special interest those issues that are relevant to international peace and security in its hemisphere, such as Haiti, Colombia or Venezuela.”

However, instead of focusing on specific agenda items, he said, Mexico will focus on ussies such as the peaceful settlement of disputes through mediation, respect for the rule of law, the protection of vulnerable groups and the promotion of a gender-perspective agenda.

Mexico was endorsed in its bid for the seat by the Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), and its candidature was uncontested,

Mexico has previously served as an election member of the out of the Security Council in 1946, in 1980 to 1981, in 2002 to 2003, and 2009 to 2010.

Also, Mexico is the only nation to have been elected to two main UN organs on the same day, specifically, the Security Council and the Social and Economic Council.

The five countries replaced Belgium, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and South Africa.

The 15-member Security Council has five permanent members — Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States, and 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the UN General Assembly.

Five non-permanent members are replaced every year.

Estonia, Niger, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia, and Vietnam are in the middle of their two-year term as non-permanent members.

…Jan. 6, 2021


Leave a Reply