Time to Spring Forward

Photo: Google


On Sunday, April 3, most of Mexico, including its capital Mexico City, will spring forward one hour at 3 a.m. to adjust to Daylight Savings Time (DST).

The northern Mexican state of Sonora does not change its clocks because it wants to stay in sync with the neighboring U.S. state of Arizona, where Mountain Standard Time (MST) is observed all year.

Mexico’s Caribbean state of Quintana Roo has also opted out of following the country’s DST regime.

And some towns in Baja California and other locations close to the country’s northern border follow the DST schedule of the United States, which starts two weeks earlier and lasts two weeks longer than in Mexico.

DST in Mexico is slated to end this year on Sunday, Oct. 30, at 2 a.m.

Mexico adopted DST in 1996, even in its tropical regions, because of its increasing economic ties with the United States.

Meanwhile, the U.S. Senate on Tuesday, March 15, voted unanimously to pass legislation that would make daylight saving time permanent, ending the cycle of changing clocks by an hour twice a year that most of the U.S. have been observing since the 1960s.

The change would move the majority of the United States — except for Arizona, Hawaii and some US territories — to Daylight Savings Time permanently, giving people an extra hour of sunlight in the afternoon, over standard time, which offers more days of early light.

The new U.S. time regimen is expected to go into effect in 2024.

Mexico has not yet decided whether to suspend DST regiments.

Leave a Reply