Photo: Google


Mexico’s National Electoral Institute (INE) late Sunday, June 6, issued the preliminary results of the “rapid count” of exit polls in the elections of the states of Aguascalientes, Durango, Hidalgo, Tamaulipas, Oaxaca and Quintana Roo, with little in the way of surprises.

According to those results, the ruling National Regeneration Movement (Morena) party, which was founded by leftist President Andrés Manuel López Obrador (AMLO) in 2014, and its allies won four of the six governorships up for grabs, while opposition parties won two.

The outcome in each state was as follows:


María Teresa Jiménez Esquivel of the conservative National Acton Party (PAN), the centralist Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) and left-leaning Party of the Democratic Revolution (PRD) coalition netted a 51.5 percent victory over runner-up candidate Nora Ruvalcaba Gámez of Morena, who tallied 32.7 percent of the total votes. Three other contending candidates received the remainder of the total vote.


Esteban Alejandro Villegas Villarreal of the PAN, PRI and PRD came out the winner with a total of the 52.2 percent of the vote, while Alma Marina Vitela Martínez of Morena received 37.8 percent of the votes. A third candidate, Patricia Flores Elizondo of the Citizens’ Movement Party, netted 4.1 percent of the total tally.


Julio Ramón Menchaca Salazar of the Morena, the Labor Movement and the New Alliance Hidalgo (NAH) Party won the state with a 60.4 percent the vote, while Carolina Viggiano of the PAN-PRI-PRD coalition received 30 percent of the vote. Two other candidates of the Green Party and the Citizen’s Movement party received 1 and 3 percent, respectively.

Quintana Roo

Maria Elena Hermelinda Lezama Espinoza of Morena, the Labor Party, the Green Party (PVEM)and the Front for Mexico carried this Caribbean state with 55.3 percent of the vote. Trailing was Laura Lyn Fernández Peña of the PAN-PRD. The Citizen’s Movement candidate, José Luis Pech Vázquez, netted 12.1 percent of the vote, while MAS candidate José Navarro Mena Villanueva came up with 6.1 percent. The candidate for the PRI, Leslie Angelina Hendricks Rubio, received 2.5 percent of the preliminary exit poll.


With a preliminary 56 percent count of total votes, the Oaxaca State Electoral Institute announced that the candidate for the “We’ll Make History Together” coalition (Morena, the PT and the PVEM) Salomón Jara had a 56 percent advantage over runner up Alejandro Avílés of the PRI-PRD coalition.


The Morena, PT and PVEM coalition candidate for governor of Tamaulipas Américo Villarreal Anaya led the preliminary vote count with 49.5 percent of the votes over his nearest contender César Augusto Verástegui Ostos, who trailed with 42.7 percent of the votes. A third candidate, Arturo Diez Gutiérrez Navarro of Citizen’s Movement  finished third with 3 percent of the vote.

The electoral institutes in the six states, which are responsible for the rapid count results, will confirm the definite victory of winners on Wednesday, June 8.

These results, however, which were as predicted in pre-election polls, seem definite.


Leave a Reply