Photo: Shutterstock


As of May 2023, all Mexican tourists traveling to the European Union will be required to first obtain a European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) visa, the EU announced on Wednesday, June 8.

The new visa will allow Mexican tourists to visit parts of Europe for up to 90 days at a time and will be valid for a period of three years.

Among the countries in which the ETIAS visa will be required are France, Germany, Spain and Poland, which belong to the so-called Schengen zone. Also Iceland and Norway, as well as nations that are in the process of being added to the Schengen zone, such as Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania, will require the visa for Mexican tourists.

According to an official EU travel site, the visa is intended to “simplify the entry authorization process,” while “improving border security, reducing illegal immigration to Europe and protecting against criminal and terrorist activities.”

In order to access the visa, applicants must apply via the internet and supply some documents and personal information, including a passport, valid for at least three months after the proposed period of the stay.

They will also be required to present information on their academic training and employment status, and report any criminal records.

There will be a fee for the visa of about $9, which can be paid for on line with a credit card.

So far, the countries that will require the ETIAS visa are: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Sweden, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and the Vatican City.

The ETIAS tourist visa requirement will also apply to most other non-EU countries, including the United Kingdom, the United States and Canada.

Leave a Reply